

2025 MECKLENBURG BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE	OBJECTIVE/DESCRIPTION	MEMBERS	MONTHLY FREQUENCY & TIME	STAFF SUPPORT
Economic Development	Responsible for making recommendations that contribute to business and job growth in Mecklenburg County.	Commissioner Susan Rodriguez- McDowell (Chair) Commissioner George Dunlap Commissioner Arthur Griffin Commissioner Leigh Altman	1st Tuesday 3:30-5:00 p.m. & 3rd Tuesday 2:30- 3:30 p.m. <i>Unless otherwise communicated</i>	Leslie Johnson & Timmothy Tibbs & Keisha Whitley
Environmental Stewardship	Responsible for making recommendations that sustain and enhance the environment in a manner that conserves and protects our air, water, land and biological resources.	Commissioner Elaine Powell (Chair) Commissioner Laura Meier Commissioner Susan Rodriguez-McDowell Commissioner Yvette Townsend-Ingram	2nd Tuesday 12:30 -2:00 p.m. Unless otherwise communicated	Leslie Johnson & Erin Stanforth
Health and Human Services	Responsible for making recommendations to improve the health and well-being of Mecklenburg County residents with emphasis on children, seniors and families.	Commissioner Arthur Griffin (Chair) Commissioner Vilma D. Leake Commissioner Elaine Powell Commissioner Leigh Altman	3rd Tuesday 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. Unless otherwise communicated	Anthony Trotman
Intergovernmental Relations	Responsible for helping coordinate the intergovernmental relations between and among Mecklenburg County and all the governing bodies operating within the County at the federal, state and local levels.	Commissioner Laura Meier (Chair) Commissioner Yvette Townsend-Ingram Commissioner Susan Rodriguez-McDowell Commissioner George Dunlap	1 st Thursday 1:00-2:30 p.m. Unless otherwise communicated	Dena Diorio/Derrick Ramos & Lisette Nimmons

Performance Review	Responsible for reviewing the performance of the County Manager.	Commissioner Leigh Altman (Chair) Commissioner Vilma Leake Commissioner Arthur Griffin Commissioner Elaine Powell	Once Yearly Unless otherwise communicated	Derrick Ramos
Audit Review	Responsible for the financial reporting process, the system of internal control, the audit process and Mecklenburg County's process for monitoring compliance with laws, regulations and the Code of Ethics.	Commissioner Laura Meier (Chair) Commissioner Yvette Townsend-Ingram Commissioner Vilma D. Leake Commissioner Arthur Griffin Public Member: Keli Alvarado	1st Tuesday 2:00-3:30 p.m. <i>4 times per year</i> Unless otherwise communicated	Michael Bryant & David Boyd & Terry Thompson
Equity Investments Ad Hoc	Responsible for evaluating and making recommendations to the full Board of County Commissioners as to how to appropriate budgeted equity investments monies. The Committee's final recommendation for investments will align with the goals listed in the Equity Action Plan and needs approval from the full Board before funds are distributed	Commissioner Mark Jerrell (Chair) Commissioner George Dunlap Commissioner Rodriguez-McDowell Commissioner Laura Meier	TBD	Dena Diorio Derrick Ramos LaShaun Carter
Seniors Ad Hoc	Get guidance from the Chair	Commissioner Vilma Leake (Chair) Commissioner Leigh Altman Commissioner Elaine Powell Commissioner Yvette Townsend-Ingram	TBD	TBD