MINUTES OF MECKLENBURG COUNTY, NORTH CAROLINA BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The Board of Commissioners of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, met in Special Session in the Meeting Chamber of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center located at 600 East Fourth Street, Charlotte, North Carolina at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, December 2, 2024 for the Board of County Commissioners Swearing-In Ceremony.

ATTENDANCE

Present: Chair Mark Jerrell, Vice-Chair Leigh Altman

and Commissioners George Dunlap, Arthur Griffin, Vilma D. Leake, Laura J. Meier, Elaine Powell,

Susan Rodriguez-McDowell, Yvette Townsend-Ingram,

County Manager Dena R. Diorio County Attorney Tyrone C. Wade Clerk to the Board Kristine M. Smith Deputy Clerk to the Board Arlissa Eason

Absent: None

CALL TO ORDER - SWEARING-IN CEREMONY

County Manager Dena R. Diorio called the Swearing-In Ceremony for the 2024-2026 Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners to order.

County Manager Diorio presided until the election of a temporary chair.

INVOCATION

Sr. Chaplain Vincent Ross, Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office, gave the invocation.

MUSICAL SELECTION AND PRESENTATION OF COLORS

There was a musical selection from the UNC Charlotte Women's Choir, the presentation of Colrs from the Mecklenburg County Sherif's Office Color Guard, the singing of the National Anthem by the UNC charlotte Women's Choir followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

OATHS OF OFFICE

The Oaths of Office was administered by the Honorable Kimberly Y. Best, Superior Court Judge, 26th Judicial District of North Carolina to the following persons who were elected to the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners in the general election held November 5, 2024, for a two-year term expiring December 7, 2026:

Leigh Altman, At-Large Yvette Townsend-Ingram, At-Large Arthur Griffin, At-Large Elaine Powell, District 1 Vilma D. Leake, District 2 George Dunlap, District 3 Meeting Minutes December 2, 2024

Mark D. Jerrell, District 4 Laura Meier, District 5 Susan Rodriguez-McDowell, District 6

All Oaths are on file with the Clerk to the Board.

County Manager Diorio congratulated Board members on their election to office.

Board members took their seats around the dais.

ELECTION OF TEMPORARY CHAIR

County Manager Diorio called for nominations for the election of a Temporary Chair, until such time that a permanent Chair was elected.

Commissioner Mark Jerrell nominated Commissioner Dunlap as Temporary Chair.

Motion was made by Commissioner Leake, seconded by Commissioner Jerrell and carried unanimously to close nominations on the one said nomination.

Motion was made by Commissioner Jerrell, seconded by Commissioner Griffin and unanimously to elect Commissioner Dunlap to Temporary Chair of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners.

Note: No other nominations were made for the position of Temporary Chair.

County Manager Diorio turned the gavel over to Commissioner Dunlap, Temporary Chair.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

Temporary Chair Dunlap called for nominations for the election of Chair of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring December 2, 2025.

Commissioner Leake nominated Commissioner Mark Jerrell for the position of Chair.

Motion was made by Commissioner Leake, seconded by Commissioner Altman and carried unanimously to close nominations on the one said nomination.

Motion was made by Commissioner Meier, seconded by Commissioner Griffin and carried unanimously to elect Commissioner Mark Jerrell as Chair of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring December 2, 2025.

Commissioner Dunlap turned the gavel over to Chair Jerrell.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

Chair Jerrell called for nominations for the election of Vice-Chair of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring December 2, 2025.

Commissioner Griffin nominated Commissioner Altman for the position of Vice-Chair. Commissioner Dunlap seconded the nomination.

Meeting Minutes December 2, 2024

Commissioner Leake made a motion seconded by Commissioner Townsend-Ingram and carried unanimously to close nomination on the one said nomination.

Motion was made by Commissioner Griffin, seconded by Commissioner Dunlap and unanimously carried (7-2) with Commissioners Altman, Dunlap, Griffin, Jerrell, Leake, Powell, and Yvette Townsend-Ingram voting yes, and Meier and Rodriguez-McDowell voting no to elect Commissioner Leigh Altman as Vice Chair of the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners for a one-year term expiring December 2, 2025.

REMARKS

Commissioners made remarks in the following order:

Susan Rodriguez-McDowell, District 6 Laura Meier, District 5 Elaine Powell, district 1 Vilma D. Leake, District 2 Arthur Griffin, At-Large Yvette Townsend-Ingram, At-Large George Dunlap, district 3 Vice Chair Leigh Altman, At-Large Chair Mark D. Jerrell, District 4

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Dunlap declared the meeting adjourned at 7:11 p.m.	
Note: A reception followed in the Lobby of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center.	
Kristine M. Smith, Clerk to the Board	Mark Jerrell, Chair