Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Bookmark and Share
File #: 18-4890    Version: 1 Name: Medic Agency Board (Mecklenburg EMS) Appointment
Type: Appointments Status: Appointments
File created: 8/20/2018 In control: Board of Commissioners
On agenda: 9/5/2018 Final action:
Title: : Medic Agency Board (Mecklenburg EMS) Appointment
Attachments: 1. 18-4890 Mecklenburg EMS Joint Agency Letter.pdf
Date Ver.Action ByActionResultAction DetailsMeeting DetailsVideo
No records to display.


Medic Agency Board (Mecklenburg EMS) Appointment




Appoint Dr. Sid Fletcher to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Thomas Zweng, expiring December 31, 2019, on the Mecklenburg EMS Agency Board as a Novant Health representative as requested by Novant Health.



Staff Contact:                      Josef Penner, Executive Director Medic



Presentation:                     No                                          




In 1996, the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners along with County management staff worked with EMS management and leaders in both the medical and business communities to address the needs of the County’s EMS department. The Amended and Restated Joint Undertaking Agreement, approved by the Board of County Commissioners in November 2009, states the affairs of the Agency shall be governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners which shall be appointed by the Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners as follows:


                     a. Three (3) persons shall be Charlotte-Mecklenburg Hospital Authority (CMHA) employees nominated by the CMHA Chief Executive Officer; and

                     b. Three (3) persons shall be Novant Health Southern Piedmont Region (Presbyterian) employees nominated by the Presbyterian Chief Executive Officer; and

                     c. One (1) person shall be a County employee nominated by the County Manager.


Each Agency Commissioner shall be appointed for a term of three (3) years or until such Commissioner’s successor is nominated and appointed. There is no limit to the number of successive terms in which a Commissioner may serve.